Photo © Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord / Thomas Berns

European

light installation

 
Symbolically, European integration will shine across the entire Ruhr metropolis. The historical industrial atmosphere will be paired with a 16 x 3 meter light installation between the blast furnaces of the landscape park.

The lettering was designed by the Berlin architects morePlatz under the direction of Caro Baumann and shows the word "EUROPA" in illuminated lettering. The idea originated before the Brexit and was realized in 2016 via crowdfunding for the first time in Berlin at the Königgalerie / St.Agnes.

Since then, the installation has travelled through nine more stations and has multiplied five times so that EUROPA currently shines in Berlin, Amberg, Nuremberg, Hamburg, Bochum and Duisburg.

In the Metropole Ruhr, the positive sign for Europe has already been installed at the Zollverein World Cultural Heritage Site in Essen, at the Jahrhunderthalle in Bochum and can currently be seen at the Schauspielhaus Bochum.

Initiated by the Ruhr Games, the installation from April to October alternates between the "Europa" lettering and the "RG19" lettering and stands as a symbol for the event and the integration of the sporting, social, cultural and European levels and the European values associated with them.

Read more

Photo © Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord / Thomas Berns
Photo © Sebastian Mölleken

Foto © Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord / Thomas Berns

Europäische

Lichtinstallation

 
Symbolisch wird die Europäische Integration über die gesamte Metropole Ruhr leuchten. Dabei soll die historische Industrieatmosphäre gepaart werden mit einer 16 x 3 Meter große Lichtinstallation zwischen den Hochöfen des Landschaftsparks.

Der Schriftzug wurde vom Architekturbüro morePlatz aus Berlin unter der Federführung von Caro Baumann entworfen und zeigt in Leuchtschrift das Wort „EUROPA“. Die Idee ist vor dem Brexit entstanden und wurde in 2016 über crowdfunding zu ersten Mal in Berlin bei der Königgalerie / St.Agnes realisiert.

Seitdem hat die Installation neun weitere Stationen bereist und sich fünfmal vervielfacht so dass EUROPA aktuell in Berlin, Amberg, Nürnberg, Hamburg, Bochum und Duisburg leuchtet.

In der Metropole Ruhr wurde das positive Zeichen für Europa bereits am Weltkulturerbe Zollverein in Essen, an der Jahrhunderthalle in Bochum installiert und ist aktuell am Schauspielhaus Bochum zu sehen.

Durch die Ruhr Games initiiert, zeigt die Installation von April bis Oktober im Wechsel neben dem „Europa“-Schriftzug auch „RG19“ und steht als Symbol für die Veranstaltung sowie die Integration der sportlichen, sozialen, kulturellen und europäischen Ebene und die damit verbundenen europäischen Werte.

Mehr Informationen

Foto © Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord / Thomas Berns
Foto © Sebastian Mölleken